Co-Chairs Welcome LetterAcknowledgements | Scratch Sheet | Entry List by StartSailing Instructions | Media & Tracking InfoEntry List (11MB File) | Trophy List | Race NewsTR2011 Results | TR2011 Program

Commodores' Welcome:

The Transatlantic Race 2015 and the Atlantic Ocean Racing Series are the result of a partnership of the Royal Yacht Squadron (founded 1815), the New York Yacht Club (1844), the Royal Ocean Racing Club (1925), and the Storm Trysail Club (1938).

Sponsor Stack

The partnership of these four yacht clubs has been greatly enhanced by the support of our sponsors: Rolex, Newport Shipyard, and Peters & May.

The TR 2015 steering committee is co-chaired by David Aisher (RYS), George David (NYYC), Stephen Frank (NYYC), and Patricia Young (NYYC). Working with them were a host of volunteers and professionals from these clubs; they are both too numerous to mention here and too important to overlook. The co-chairs especially recognize the efforts and contributions of Eddie Warden Owen, Chief Executive Officer of the RORC.

This year’s race – the 30th such competitive north transatlantic crossing – will author another chapter in the annals of Atlantic Ocean racing, begun in 1866. The course will repeat the one established in the most recent edition, TR 2011, starting in Newport and finishing at Lizard Point. The course is registered with the World Sailing Speed Record Council (WSSRC) and the record was set by RAMBLER 100 in 2011 at 6 days, 22 hours, 8 minutes, and 2 seconds.

A number of competitors in the fleet have arrived at the Newport starting line by competing in the first of the regattas of the companion Atlantic Ocean Racing Series, the RORC Caribbean 600. Once on the other side of the Atlantic, many will go on to compete in the Rolex Fastnet Race. The series will culminate with the Rolex Middle Sea Race.

Transatlantic racing is both new and old, as a look at the diverse fleet will attest. The most modern of racing yachts will share the North Atlantic with MARIETTE of 1915, the oldest and largest yacht in the fleet, as well as DORADE which won the 1931 Transatlantic Race from Brenton Reef to Plymouth.

While the script for TR 2015 has yet to written, we know that the boats and crews will earn the highest sailing distinction – that of transoceanic racers. We wish all of you safe passage, smooth sailing, and the best of luck.


Combined Commo Signs Long

The Hon. Christopher Sharples          A. Rives Potts, Jr.         Michael Boyd                     Lee Reichart
Commodore                                        Commodore                 Commodore                       Commodore
Royal Yacht Squadron                        New York Yacht Club   Royal Ocean Racing Club  Storm Trysail Club

Search TR2019 Search TR2019