aorsNotice of Series posted January 22, 2011

The New York Yacht Club, Royal Yacht Squadron, Royal Ocean Racing Club and Storm Trysail Club, announce the Atlantic Ocean Racing Series 2011, in concert with the following clubs: Royal Malta Yacht Club, Annapolis Yacht Club, Ida Lewis Yacht Club, Montego Bay Yacht Club, Naval Academy Sailing Squadron, Jamaica Yachting Association, Antigua Yacht Club and Real Club Nautico de Sanxenxo

There will be seven races. Three races, including the Transatlantic Race 2011, will be required to qualify. Races will be weighted equally at 1.0 with the exception of the Transatlantic Race 2011 which will be weighted 1.5. Cox-Sprague points will be awarded within individual races in the series to accommodate differences in fleet sizes. A yacht will be scored in the series using its two best finishes in addition to the Transatlantic Race 2011.

The seven qualifying races and their starting dates are:

Pineapple Cup - Montego Bay Race February 5, 2011
RORC Caribbean 600 February 21, 2011
Annapolis to Newport Race June 3, 2011
Transatlantic Race 2011 June 26 through July 3, 2011
Rolex Fastnet Race August 14, 2011
Biscay Race September 11 - 12, 2011
Rolex Middle Sea Race October 22, 2011

Participation in each qualifying race will be subject to NOR and Sailing Instructions as established by that race's sponsoring yacht club or clubs.

Participating yacht clubs will include sponsoring yacht clubs for each of the seven qualifying races. These clubs and their burgees are included here. Yacht clubs may enter teams and will accordingly be included as participating yacht clubs.

Prizes will be awarded for individual and team entries and will be suitable for a series of this magnitude. A perpetual trophy will be awarded to the overall winner.

Search TR2019 Search TR2019